Production back to Europe

  • Post author:
  • Post comments:0 Comments

"What is needed is a clear renaissance of production in Europe. We must bring value chains back to Europe and produce more strongly here again - it is a question of research and development and modern digitalised production".

This quote was in mid-April in press releases by the currently responsible Minister for Economic Affairs, Ms Margarete Schramböck. In my view, the statement is highly gratifying and it is to be hoped that there is an honest intention behind this quotation. It is also to be hoped that the view is shared by many. And above all it is to be hoped that the production in Europe to which reference is made will also affect the textile and clothing industry, which has almost completely disappeared from Europe over the last 40 years.

But what do we need to do to really bring about a "renaissance" of production in Europe in an industry like the clothing industry?

Above all it needs a new way of thinking, a new mindset. The question must be asked: What do we want to achieve if we want to bring production closer to the consumer markets. In the end - and especially in times of crisis, such as the current COVID-19 pandemic - it is always a question of prosperity, security and economic and social stability. Even with this enumeration, it is striking that it is not primarily a matter of procuring products as cheaply as possible.

Production in Europe can in any case make a strong contribution to security of supply. The current procurement crisis for protective masks and protective clothing dramatically illustrates what is meant by this. In Europe, there is only a very small amount of production capacity available, products coming from Far East countries are accompanied by certificates, but these are usually not worth the paper they are printed on. Deliveries of goods are blocked at airports or in the worst case even diverted to other countries.

So it is time for us to change our mindset, to do away with old industrial beliefs, and above all to look at the possibilities of modern industrial production. Robots have long since become standard in the production lines of most industries. In the garment industry, the belief system still prevails: that textiles cannot be easily handled by robot arms. That may be true, not so easy - but it is precisely these challenges that are at stake.

But it is also about thinking about new concepts such as the circular economy and implementing them along the entire supply chain in close cooperation with all partners.

We at BREDDY'S have already started with these developments. The entire supply chain, from the fibre to the last stitch and packaging, is 100% manufactured in Europe. And we, as a small company, are driving this development into a new manufacturing reality, which the Minister of Economics is talking about these days. We are looking forward to partners, to ideas and to initiatives that will bring us together on this path to success.

Write a comment

Protected with IP Blacklist CloudIP Blacklist Cloud

Produktion zurück nach Europa

  • Post author:
  • Post comments:0 Comments

„Es braucht eine klare Renaissance der Produktion in Europa. Wir müssen Wertschöpfungsketten nach Europa zurückholen und wieder hier stärker produzieren – es geht um Forschung und Entwicklung sowie die moderne digitalisierte Produktion“

Dieses Zitat war Mitte April in Presseaussendungen der derzeitig verantwortlichen Wirtschaftsministerin, Frau Margarete Schramböck zu lesen. Die Aussage ist aus meiner Sicht hocherfreulich und es ist zu hoffen, dass hinter diesem Zitat eine ehrliche Absicht steckt. Es ist auch zu hoffen, dass die Ansicht von vielen geteilt wird. Und es ist vor allem auch zu hoffen, dass die angesprochene Produktion in Europa auch die Textil- und Bekleidungsindustrie betreffen soll, die in den letzten 40 Jahren nahezu komplett aus Europa verschwunden ist.

Was aber müssen wir tun, um in einer Industrie, wie der Bekleidungsindustrie tatsächlich eine „Renaissance“ der Produktion in Europa herbeizuführen?

Vor allem braucht es ein neues Denken, ein neues Mindset. Die Fragestellung muss sein: Was wollen wir erreichen, wenn wir die Produktion wieder in die Nähe der Verbrauchermärkte bringen wollen. Am Ende – und gerade in Krisenzeiten, wie der aktuellen COVID-19 Pandemie – geht es immer um Wohlstand, um Sicherheit und um wirtschaftliche und soziale Stabilität. Schon bei dieser Aufzählung fällt auf, dass es nicht primär darum geht, Produkte so billig wie möglich zu beschaffen.

Produktion in Europa kann auf jeden Fall einen starken Beitrag zur Beschaffungssicherheit leisten. Die aktuelle Beschaffungskrise an Schutzmasken und Schutzbekleidung verdeutlicht auf dramatische Weise, was damit gemeint ist. In Europa stehen nur Fertigungskapazitäten in geringstem Ausmaß zur Verfügung, die Produkte die aus Fern-Ost Ländern kommen werden zwar von Zertifikaten begleitet, die sind aber meistens das Papier nicht wert, auf dem sie gedruckt sind. Warenlieferungen werden auf Flughäfen blockiert oder im schlimmsten Fall sogar in andere Länder umgeleitet.

Es ist also an der Zeit, dass wir unser Mindset verändern, mit alten Glaubenssätzen der Industrie aufräumen und uns vor allem mit den Möglichkeiten moderner Industrieproduktion befassen. Roboter sind längst in den Fertigungsstraßen der meisten Industrien zum Standard geworden. In der Bekleidungsindustrie herrscht immer noch der Glaubenssatz vor: Textilien kann man nicht so einfach mit Roboterarmen greifen. Das mag schon stimmen, nicht so einfach – aber eben um diese Herausforderungen geht es.

Es geht aber auch darum an neue Konzepte wie das der Kreislaufwirtschaft zu denken und diese entlang der gesamten Lieferkette in enger Zusammenarbeit mit allen Partnern umzusetzen.

Wir bei BREDDY’S haben mit diesen Entwicklungen schon begonnen. Die gesamte Lieferkette ist von der Faser bis zum letzten Nadelstich und bis zur Verpackung zu 100% in Europa hergestellt. Und wir treiben als kleines Unternehmen die Entwicklung in eine neue Fertigungsrealität, von der die Wirtschaftsministerin in diesem Tagen spricht. Wir freuen uns auf Partner, auf Ideen und auf Initiativen die uns auf diesem Weg gemeinsam zum Erfolg bringen werden.

Schreibe einen Kommentar